Tennessee Department of Revenue Waives State Portion of Vehicle Registration Fees

June 6, 2022

The Tennessee Department of Revenue recently issued Important Notice #22-12 regarding the state portion of vehicle registration fees.

Effective July 1, 2022, Public Chapter 1143 (2022) waives the state registration fees for Class A and Class B motor vehicles upon the renewal of the motor vehicle’s registration if the renewal occurs after July 1, 2022, and before June 30, 2023. Plates expiring before or after this period will be subject to the ordinary registration fee.

Class A includes motorcycles and autocycles and Class B includes passenger motor vehicles and motor homes. The state portion of the fee that is waived under this law is ordinarily $16.75 for Class A and $23.75 for Class B.

Additional Fees Not Waived
Other specific fees that are earmarked for safety and system improvement purposes, as well as the additional electric vehicle registration fee and county fees, are not waived.

For more information, visit the Tennessee Department of Revenue website.